Summer reading part 2

June 15, 2007

I finished my second fiction book of the summer. It’s surprisingly hard to get back into reading fiction after reading non-fiction, solely, for 3 years. Anyways, I tried a few different books and wasn’t impressed enough.

foer

Then, on a recommendation from a friend, I read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Johnathan Safran Foer. This is possibly one of the more beautiful books I’ve read. At one point I got goosebumps, and other points I became teary, wistful, choked up, and even laughed out loud.

Took a trip to the library yesterday and took out 3 more books. All non-fiction, two needed for my independent study in Environmental History this summer.

Taking a trip back to New York this weekend to visit my family for my father’s 65th birthday. My brother won’t be there, as he’s still in Germany. It’s always weird to realize, again and again, that my brother is no longer 12, but rather is 20.

I’m planning out a few trips I’ll be taking before the end of the year, and I hope that I’m financially able to do both. Boston in August, namely for an E.P.A. Conference I want to attend with my independent study advisory. The other trip is at the end of September, to Portland, Oregon, for the Lewis and Clark Law School‘s annual Animal Law Conference. Whenever I think about this school, I always get pangs of wanting to go to law school still, especially since this school has the exact mix of concentrations I would want to do. However, I think I’ve just relegated myself to taking a huge break from formal education after I get my Master’s degree.

P.S. The Summer edition of Knitty has some really great, and adorable, patterns.

Leave a Reply

