Finally! Winter has arrived

February 12, 2008

Snow has been falling in Philadelphia all day. It’s so cold that no matter what you do, the chill gets in your bones. Of course this is a day that my office decides to not have the heat pumping at a million degrees. (I’m freezing over here)

I don’t have any pictures of the snow, or any new knitting to show off. I cast-on for Kasy’s pseudo rugby knee socks. I had purchased 4 skeins of Knit Picks Bare 100% Merino wool, fingering weight, to dye for these. After reading some articles online, especially loving Eunny Jang’s description, I went ahead and dyed a self-striping yarn of dark blue and off-white (the color of Bare), using Jacquard Acid Dye. I’m hoping that I can make good headway with these socks. My first attempt at knee socks and calf increases. Fingers are crossed! I want them to be perfect, so I know Kasy will be patient with me.

So Valentine’s Day is coming up, and I think this is the first year in my entire life that I haven’t been bombarded with red hearts and candy boxes and odd gifts for significant others. Probably due to the fact that I am on a major budget redux and no-consumerism diet, which I am proud to say I am enjoying immensly. I did, however, decide to jump right in to the Valentine’s day and love related topics presented in today’s New York Times Science Section and Health Section. Don’t forget to take the quiz (I’m scored a 126–“Extremely passionate. Your love is wild and reckless”). More than any other, one article really touched me. Hidden in The City Section I read “Fragile Matters of the Heart,” a brief look into the love support group for those with mental illness. How hard it must be to be dealing with many of the issues associated with their afflictions and feeling so alone, afraid of never finding someone. This article made me think about this, something that has never really crossed my mind. I hope those that find themselves in this position are able to find some form of support and love in their lives. Not just for the sake of the grossly overly hallmark saturated Valentine’s Day either.

Leave a Reply

