Traditions from the past and plans for the future

February 16, 2008

Delicious meal
Every year there’s always one day that my family participates in a blini lunch. Never really understanding where this came from, my grandmother would whip up amazing thin pancakes (think crepes) and fill small bowls with caviar, smoked salmon, herring, sour cream, chives, hard boiled egg, and olives. A gravy boat sits on the side with melted butter inside. Everyone has a shot of vodka–some shot glasses round and etched, some with little men handpainted on the sides. Then we begin to eat. Hands grab across the table, each of us preparing our pancakes differently. Sascha avoids fish. I pile on the caviar. Chives all over the place. This is “maslenitsa” and it’s the best. My favorite meal, and a great time to spend with the family, especially now since the kids are grown and live far apart. It’s one of the few times we gather together and everything feels like it did when I was little. Back then we had this meal at my grandmother’s house, after sunday church. Grandpa always sat next to me. It’s times like this that I really miss him. These family traditions are held very dear to me, as I grow older and my life changes daily. Today I relive the past, and tomorrow I return to Philadelphia. Back to my current life, job, school. I will continue to build my touring bike to bike into the future with Kasy.

Touring bike!

We’re building the wheels for this bike tomorrow and Monday night and then the touring bike is almost done! I’ll need to take it to get brazons (sp?) for the front rack, but that doesn’t need to happen for awhile. I’m excited about this bike. The rugged beat-up frame looks sweet with the slender brushed silver. I can’t wait to slap on my panniers and go camping. When will spring get here???
Valentine's Day present for Kasy
In order to commemorate Valentine’s day, as well as the future together, I embroidered a small item for Kasy. Here it is, with our candle lanterns. A touring bike, looking forward to the miles that stretch ahead of us in the months and years to come.

3 Responses to “Traditions from the past and plans for the future”

  1. technologenerations Says:

    That’s really cool that you’re assembling your own bike; my boyfriend loves doing that too! Last May, I splurged (the yarn budget took a bit of a hit) and got myself a new Bianchi. It’s nice to see another knitter who has a love of bicycles too! 🙂

  2. futuregirl Says:

    This is a very sweet post. I love also love family memories like that one. The Valentines embroidery is awesome, too.

  3. Marvafn Says:

    Cool post!, dude


Leave a Reply

