Back to the grind

March 17, 2008

Spring break is over and classes resume today. Of course, in classic Andrea-style, I sat on the couch last night wondering if it would be a bad idea to drop out of graduate school when I have only 1 course and a thesis to complete after this semester is over. Well, we all know that’s a bad idea…which is why, today, I begrudgingly return to class. It’s that time in the semester when you just want it to be over because the lack of sleep, overly stressed eyes and brain, and complete jadedness has set in. There’s only 1 month left till summer break.

During my week off, I managed to knit a whole bunch as well as take some well missed city bicycle rides. That’s right, I believe spring has arrived in Philadelphia to stay. We replaced the pink bullhorns on my fixed gear bicycle with riser bars with pink grips.

New risers

So far I’m really digging this change. It’s allowing me to be a little more aggressive in traffic. I’m hoping that these will aid me in successfully track standing and skidding. I need to start practicing that at night with Kasy instead of wanting to settle into, in the evenings, the winter-hermitness I’m still wrapped in. After months of movie watching and couch snuggling it’s hard to escape out into the real world after work and dinner.

I wasn’t able to get the right gauge for my Central Park Hoodie so I decided to switch projects and cast-on for the Sunrise Circle Jacket with my Debbie Bliss Tweed. I’m loving it.
Sunrise Circle Jacket

3 Responses to “Back to the grind”

  1. Rachel Says:

    the new handlebars and grips look good. ive always wondered about the bullhorns- terrified of the whole idea of a bike without breaks, and then handlebars that look like one would just slip off of them with little effort!

  2. Jsmi Says:

    Hello to a felloq Raveler. I am EweSillyGirl over in Ravelry land. I love your blog! I just wanted to let you know I am totally in love with your pink and black bike, and I have linked to you from my blog.

    Happy biking and knitting!

  3. michael Says:

    I love that bike!


Leave a Reply

