April Showers

April 1, 2008

True to form, the first day of April in Philadelphia is cloudy with the constant threat of rain, and 70 (?!) degrees. It’s weird outside, to say the least.

Sascha turns 28!

I spent a chilly weekend in New York celebrating my sister’s 28th birthday. At the last minute I was able to finish her present, Kate from Knitty.
Birthday Cat

This pattern was pretty fun to follow, and knitted quickly. I used Plymouth Encore worsted yarn scraps I had around the house, polyfil stuffing, and black plastic safety eyes. I debated on knitting a tail for the cat, since the pattern doesn’t include one, but ran out of time. All in all, it was a successful gift.

Noro yarn and needlesWhen I was visiting Rosie’s Yarn Cellar to purchase some Noro and knitting needles to include in my sister’s present, I was sucked into buying Regia’s Kaffe Fasset sock yarn. The colors are just so lovely! This will go perfectly for Project Spectrum‘s EARTH segment. I missed my chance at FIRE, since I got so busy, but I’m hoping that these socks will help jump-start me to creating things for PS. (It just started pouring rain, by the way)

So, I purchased 2 skeins of the Regia in the “mirage landscape” colorway. I’m determined to perfect my sock knitting to where I utilize all the yardage and get great fitting socks. I was thinking about buying a kitchen scale and weighing my yarn, but while that is tempting I just don’t want to have any more stuff. I decided I should learn toe-up sock construction instead. I’m not sure if it’s the yarn, the toe-up knitting, or what, but these were flying off the needles this weekend.

Regia Kaffe Fasset socks

I strolled through Bryant Park on my way to Penn station to return to Philadelphia. Knowing I had some time to kill, I had a mini sock photo shoot and enjoyed the warm sun, bare branches against blue blue sky, and planted flowers. It was also nice that at 9am on a Sunday morning, New York is empty and calm. That’s the only way I really like the city.

Bryant Park

2 Responses to “April Showers”

  1. futuregirl Says:

    Weird … we were in New York on Saturday. AND we walked past Bryant park to go to the Japanese bookstore.

  2. Violet Says:

    That cake is beautiful! And Kate came out adorable.
    Keep an eye on your mailbox!


Leave a Reply

