Welcoming the weekend

April 11, 2008

This week has been mentally trying. Granted, if I would just buck up and deal with some of my graduate work it would be easier to handle, but what’s the fun in that?!

The past couple of days have been absolutely amazing for Philadelphia weather. 70 degree days, lots of sun, flowers all over the trees, and hope that summer is right around the corner. I’ve been spending a lot of time on bicycles lately. Finally learned how to skid on my track bike and can now officially track stand for all of 5 seconds. I switched over the pedals on my Surly Crosscheck to clipless pedals to try to get used to the clipless shoes I bought when I got my Jamis 29er mountain bike (and the subsequent injury that resulted). Man oh man. I was so against going clipless, but what an uneducated opinion that was. These are amazing.
Clip in. Clip out.
I doubt I’ll switch over all my bikes to clipless, but at least I can zip along on one bike with these pupps. I know that my touring bike will always have flat pedals, cause I want any reason to be able to ride with flipflops while bicycling around the corners of the world (weather permitting).

Tomorrow is girl’s night in Philadelphia for me and a few select lady friends. We are celebrating one of my favorite lass’s last few weeks of being a bachelorette. Strange to see another friend get hitched, but awesome nonetheless. In the vein of wanting to give away handcrafted things all the time, I am spending my Friday night knitting her a bouquet of flowers (now that I’ve drinking a few beers and done a whole lot of nothing for the past 4 hours). Tomorrow morning commences mission bake a lot of amazing cookies with my Kitchenaid mixer. Sweet.
Bachelorette Bouquet for Sarah

I will, however, leave you with a nice spring like vision of the city of brotherly love, that I call home.

Springtime in Philadelphia

Leave a Reply

