Wishing the best

April 12, 2008

Springtime in Philadelphia

Yep. It’s still absolutely gorgeous here in Philadelphia! I spent the morning baking, biking, visiting my dear Kasy and work, and am about to celebrate my dear Sarah’s upcoming wedding. This will be the second friend that will be married off, so plus my sister’s wedding, that’s 3 weddings in 3 years. I’m still waiting for a friend to have a baby. Then I’ll really see how different everything has become.

Saturday Morning bakingBaking with a machine

After using my Kitchenaid Stand Mixer for the first time, I see what all the fuss is about. Good grief I am in love! It is the best thing I’ve ever been given (thanks Mom and Dad!). It made a ridiculous amount of cookie baking as easy as anything. You see, I never owned a hand mixer so all my previous baking as been completely by the force of my arm muscles so this beautiful cobalt machine is amazing (and a gorgeous piece of metal).

Knitty's Calla Lillies, with a Lush giftboxPhiladelphia drinks right

I also knitted 2 calla lilies from Knitty (The Good, the Gilded, and the Goth) out of scrap wool in purples, greens, and yellow on size 3 dpn. Wrapped a yellow bow around the stems (after sticking take-out chopsticks in the i-cord to make them stiff) and placed on top of the gift-box from Lush full of fragrant flowery pamper supplies and a hand-knitted cotton washcloth (from me) in yellow and blue. I loved this pattern, and will confess that this is the first time I’ve ever knit an i-cord before. So quick to knit, once the first one is done, and they really are simply lovely. All the possibilities this pattern holds is unknown.

So here I sit, with a bowl of chocolate chip oatmeal cookies and chocolate chocolate chip cookies, a case of Yard’s Philadelphia Pale Ale (cause when in Philly you drink Philly beer), and the excitement of seeing some friends I haven’t seen in 2.5 years.

Leave a Reply

