2008 Knits: Sunrise Circle Jacket (and WIP and MSWF)

May 4, 2008

I finished my Sunrise Circle Jacket! Of course, this being my first sweater, I learned many things. Such as, perhaps I should block my pieces before seaming together. Perhaps I should measure myself a lot more than once or twice. My torso is longer than the sweater size I fit into, and if I had read all the Ravelry postings regarding sizing before casting on I would have know how to fudge this for a perfect fit. That’s ok. The sweater is a bit short, by Kasy didn’t notice it as a mistake. He thought that was the style of the sweater. And it is very comfortable.

Sunrise Circle Jacket

Pattern: Sunrise Circle Jacket by Kate Gilbert
Size: 35”
Began: March 13, 2008
Finish: April 29, 2008
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Donegal Aran Tweed in purple (dye lot 1901)
# of Skeins: 10
Needles: Size 7 knit picks circulars
Mods: none, except I purled one row when I should have knit it on the left sleeve, leaving a lone rib. I kind of like it so it stayed instead of getting ripped out. No button closures–using a kilt safety pin.
Ravelry page

[I need to take a picture of the sweater being worn, but I got sick the first day I wore it and there hasn’t been time since.]

Luckily Philadelphia gave me a nice chilled day to wear my sweater the first day after it finished being blocked. Of course, after only a few hours at work I began to get a fever and the rumblings of a cold/stress induced ickiness. The cure? A day and a half on the couch napping, watching television, and knitting. I even managed to successfully turn my first sock heel from the toe-up!

I’m brought these socks with me on Rosie’s bus to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival. In transit to Maryland, I also swatched Cascade 220 for Wicked.

Kasy's socks

I’m headed off to a mountain biking thing in Philadelphia, right now. But tonight I’m looking forward to going through all the yarn I bought yesterday and looking at the pictures I took. I enjoyed the Sheep and Wool festival and will probably go back next year. However, I hope my shyness isn’t as bad next year, since I didn’t introduce myself to anyone at the Ravelry meet-up. So silly, in retrospect, but yeah…that shyness…totally lame.

4 Responses to “2008 Knits: Sunrise Circle Jacket (and WIP and MSWF)”

  1. Violet Says:

    I wish I wasn’t on the opposite coast! MSWF looks like it was so much fun. I’m really shy too (although know one seems to believe that…) so we could have knit in the corner together.

    I’m thinking about casting on a sunrise circle jacket, and I read the ravelry threads but I’m still not sure what size to make. I have a 34″ bust, but a long torso, so I’m not sure if I should go up to the 37 for length, or knit the 35 and fudge it. suggestions? Yours looks great, by the way!

  2. Lolly Says:

    beautiful sunrise!! i have one ball of that same colorway. so pretty! enjoy the cardigan!

    oh well, there’s a next time… i wanna meet you!

  3. Pamela Howell Says:

    Hi,

    Do you know how one can buy the pattern for the Sunrise Circle Jacket? It was taken off the Interweave Knit website just a few days ago!!!

    Thanks so much for any help or guidance you can offer.

    Best regards,

    Pamela in Atlanta

  4. Andrea Says:

    Unfortunately, I believe that the Sunrise Circle Jacket pattern is no longer available. I found this message when I searched on Ravelry for you:

    Introduced in the Spring 2006 issue of Interweave Knits, but the pattern is not available in that issue.

    This was available in the Limited Edition Reader’s Choice – Top 5 e-Book. This downloadable collection ended May 14, 2008.

    I suggest contacting the designer, Kate Gilbert, and ask her.


Leave a Reply

