Weaving?

May 6, 2008

In the plant room off of the living room of the house I grew up in, there was a stand-up loom. I used to play with it as a kid. I never wove anything on it, but I loved this machine so much. It now resides in my parents’ basement, and I begged my parents not to get rid of it even though I doubt my mom could really part with it either. I think part of me hopes that one day in the distant future I will have a space for it to be used frequently.

So weaving. It’s always been around, in some form, in my life. What does that mean for me now? I’ve decided to make my own DIY simple loom to weave rag rugs out of old clothes. Since I don’t know where in Philadelphia to buy weaving supplies (anyone? anyone?), I turned to WEBS to get cotton warp for my recycled rag rugs. That was a mistake. In a week, I will be receiving 5 cones of cotton and 6 hanks of slubby cotton mill ends (in pink and orange. oh man!). Like I really need another craft to do…

3 Responses to “Weaving?”

  1. lolly Says:

    See? we should have talked at MDSW! I have been weaving for a few months… I learned at The Mannings, which should be about 90 minutes west of you – maybe less. They have everything you would ever need. So, if you feel like a nice long bike ride…

    I have bought a few cones from WEBS too. I actually started warping the loom the other night to make a baby blanket for a co-worker. I love weaving, but I have to say, knitting is still #1 🙂

  2. jessimonster Says:

    I feel your pain about too many crafts. I’ve had to cut back, actually. Its not like I’ve even had time since the baby was born.

  3. Mariss Says:

    I’ve always wanted to do “real weaving”, and not just the Fisher Price loom, which I must admit was awesome!!! I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    There is an awesome weaver / yarn dyer named Sweet Georgia who may provide some inspiration. http://blog.sweetgeorgiayarns.com/

    Thanks for your kind words on my mushy blog post 🙂


Leave a Reply

