Off to the woods!

May 23, 2008

Morning after the rain

Last year Kasy and I rode out to French Creek State Park to camp on what ended up being a day with 106 degrees. While it was painful and dehydrating at the time, we had a blast during that overnighter, regardless of the high heat, intense humidity, getting lost, me crying going up the bajillionth steep hill in the blazing sun, the night thunderstorm, and a SEPTA train guy being a jerk.

This weekend we’re headed back. Back to French Creek, with 2 more people and some mountain bikes in tow. Staying 2 nights instead of 1, bringing s’more making ingredients, and having a long weekend in the woods.

After work today I need to get home and pack the panniers for our early departure tomorrow morning. I’m at a loss as to what I should bring with me to knit and read while I’m away. My Wicked sweater? Kasy’s socks? My Project Spectrum EARTH socks? Or dare I say it…cast on to something new with the Koigu mill-ends I snagged at Rosie’s Yarn Cellar? I really would love some multi-colored legwarmers in Koigu, and that’s what I had in mind when I picked out colors. I guess I’m so bored with the stockinette EARTH knee socks and the k2p2 ribbed knee socks for Kasy. They are moving ever so slowly, especially since my knitting time this past month has been teensy tiny to say the least. Oh decisions decisions.

Book-wise, I know I’ll be bringing Josie Dew’s A Ride in the Neon Sun so that I can finally finish it, as well as the Ann Marie MacDonald novel Fall on your Knees, which was slow and kind of hard to get into at first but now it’s hard to put down.

I hope you all have a nice long Memorial Day weekend as well!

One Response to “Off to the woods!”

  1. Shaina Says:

    I loved Fall On Your Knees. It just gets weirder and weirder.


Leave a Reply

