When avoiding work, at work…

June 23, 2008

do a meme that other bloggers are doing!

Saw this on s i x o n e s e v e n and decided to plunge on in, too.

1. What was I doing 10 years ago?

I was about to turn 16 and working in small movie theater as a candy concession person. The summer actually turned out pretty awesome that year, since I made a whole host of new friends who lived around the theater and we did silly zany things. Alas, when the summer was done, we all parted ways since I didn’t go to the same high school as them and didn’t drive.

2) What are 5 things on my to-do list for today?

1. send laptop back to IBM to get fixed
2. buy toothpaste
3. put away clean laundry
4. go on a date with Kasy after work (weeee!)
5. sweep first floor of house (my cat is shedding her winter fur quite ferociously right now)

3) Snacks I enjoy:

soy ice cream, regular ice cream, smoothies, fresh fruit, popcorn, dark chocolate, cookies, cut up veggies

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

1. Not work again
2. Pay off my school loan completely
3. Buy a large plot of land in Australia to have yurts, a small garden, and a few sheep
4. Give my parents some money
5. Finance my amazing bicycle tour for a long, long time
6. Live off the interest of my money for the rest of my life

5) Places I have lived:

New Rochelle, NY
New Brunswick, NJ
Philadelphia, PA (in Rittenhouse, West Philly, and now South Philly)

6) Jobs I have had:
Cashier at The Grand Union (ouch)
Movie theater candy concession
Shift manager at Starbucks (5 years man. yikes)
Floor manager at a vegetarian co-op
Server at a “nuevo-latino” restaurant
Receptionist at a different “nuevo-latino” restaurant
Office drone (currently)

If you’ve already done the meme, or if you tag yourself from this one, let me know so I can have a peek at your answers, too!

2 Responses to “When avoiding work, at work…”

  1. lolly Says:

    I love reading these. After reading yours and Parikha’s, I figure I should do one too 🙂 Still loving that Australian idea, and it seems that we both share an unabetted love of ice cream.


  2. […] may be behind, but I saw this meme making the rounds again (thanks to Andrea and Parikha) and remembered that I answered a similar one a few years ago… but, it kind of […]


Leave a Reply

