2008 Knits: Mom’s Clapotis

July 31, 2008

A long time coming, this was. My Mom requested her own Clapotis after seeing the one I made for my grandmother for Christmas. We discussed colors, and originally I was going to knit it using Knit Picks Gloss in Black and Knit Picks Gossamer in Red Hat, held together throughout, since my Mom envisioned it to be black with speckled color throughout. It wasn’t knitting up the way she preferred, so we ditched the Red Hat and went solely with the Gloss in black. I cast on in February, found that I stupidly didn’t buy enough yarn and put it aside….until mid-July.

This was the first time I’ve used this yarn, and it is super soft. Unraveling the dropped stitched was a bit tough since this yarn is a tiny bit *grabby* which makes me wonder if there will be a lot of pilling.

I tried to finish this on my last visit to my parents’ house so that I could leave it with my pleased Mom and go back to Philadelphia with one less knitted item in progress in my possession. No such luck. I often overestimate my knitting speed, and found myself knitting this to completion a day or so after returning to Philadelphia.

She's done

Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss in black — 2.5 skeins used (550 yards)
Needles: Size 6 straight
Pattern: Clapotis by Kate Gilbert
Made for: My Mom
Mods: None
Ravelry Project Page

The Ravelympics are coming up, and I’ve decided to knit a couple things for Team Blue Moon — a pair of Spring Forward Socks (with Socks that Rock medium weight in Star Sapphire)[rav link] and a Gloria Cowl (with Socks that Rock medium weight in Rainforest Jasper) [rav link] — as well as finish some knits still on the needles. I wonder if I will be successful in finishing these items during the Olympics? Or will this be another instance of me overestimating my knitting speed? Needless to say, I did find out where I can watch some Olympic events (since I live in a TV-less house): http://watch-olympics-online.co.cc/

4 Responses to “2008 Knits: Mom’s Clapotis”

  1. Miss 376 Says:

    At least it is all finished now and is looking good. All the best during the olympics

  2. cici Says:

    Yay for finishing..thanks for the link,, since I spend more time in front of the pc than the tv. I find it difficult to knit black… I need a lot of light.

  3. Violet Says:

    Thanks for the olympics link. We don’t have tv either (well, we have a tv but for netflix purposes only) and I’m thinking about doing the ravelympics, too. I want to knit a sweater for me before I dive into holiday gifts.

  4. lolly Says:

    i can’t think of a more wearable piece than a black shawl. it looks great, and your mother will love it.


Leave a Reply

