Saturday Morning Cookies

September 20, 2008

I meant to bake last night, after work, but I was just pooped from this week and ended up drinking some wine, watching Arrested Development episodes, and falling asleep on the couch.

So upon waking, early this morning, I decided to jump right in and get these cookies going.

I told the Third Street Ravelers that I would be bringing vegan cookies to today’s Philadelphia Knit in Public event. It’s been a little while since I’ve baked vegan goods, so I did a little searching around and found a new recipe on Post Punk Kitchen (best recipe database for all your meatless/dairyless needs), with great reviews, that uses an egg substitute I’ve never tried – ground flax seeds and soy milk. How intriguing!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan)
(Chewy Chocolate Chocolate Chip cookies from Post Punk Kitchen)

Holy smokes! These cookies are perfect! I followed the recipe to a T, even down to the 10 minutes in the oven. The recipe indicates that even though the cookies don’t look done at 10 minutes, they are ready. These cookies are slightly crispy on the bottoms and around the edges and warm and chewy on the inside. For those vegan baking skeptics out there, I gave one to Kasy’s daughter and she said that it tastes delicious and seemed surprised at it’s lack of egg and butter. (I used to be vegan and love vegan cookies and can’t taste a difference ever, usually). I am totally making these again and have decided that this recipe will replace my non-vegan go-to double chocolate chip recipe since these are far, far superior.

And since I can’t just bake cookies in my house and take them to an event, leaving nothing for Kasy, I pulled out my go-to oatmeal chocolate chip recipe and baked up a batch of those. Always delicious. Always a success.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I need to pack up a few of them in an airplane care package, since Kasy is flying out to Interbike tomorrow morning. I’m going to have a whole week by myself. It’s going to be weird being in my house all alone, with the cat. I forsee a lot of late night knitting and guilty pleasure movie watching.

3 Responses to “Saturday Morning Cookies”

  1. Shaina Says:

    Mmmm, vegan cookies! You’re talking right up my alley! I bake all my cookies vegan just for fun. The PPK has great cookie recipes, but my go-to recipe is this one from VegWeb.com. (That website, by the way, is overwhelmingly awesome and has vegan recipes for everything you could possibly imagine.) It uses apple sauce as an egg replacer, which I was totally skeptical of, but they are the best vegan chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever tasted. (Okay, that’s not totally true. The best vegan chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever tasted are from Wild Oats, a now-defunct Portland health food chain, but I digress. Those cookies, incidentally, had NO egg replacer in them. Voo doo magic.)

    Sorry, I have a lot of opinions about vegan cookies, the number one rule of which is that yes, you should always take them out before they look done. By the time they “look” done, they’ll be totally gross once they cool. I’ve actually got a delicious vegan cookie recipe I’ve been meaning to put up on my blog for a little while, so keep your eyes peeled. They’re killer.

  2. Andrea Says:

    Ground flax seeds and water is my favorite egg substitute. I’m so happy you learned about it. Plus it is so good for you! Helps one to feel a bit less guilty after eating a huge warm pile of cookies. Um, no, that’s never happened to me…


Leave a Reply

