2008 Knits: Manos Gloria Cowl

September 22, 2008

After I cast off the first side of my Drops Cardigan, my lone skein of Manos del Uruguay yarn found itself on my size 11 circulars. I guess after all the gray knitting, I needed just a splash of color to break up the pretty monotony.

Gloria Cowl in Manos

I bought this skein at the 2008 Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival. I had heard of Manos and seen it on the internets, but had never had the chance to see it live. Greens have sucked me in over the past few years, even though I never thought of green as a favorite color of mine. Perhaps this has something to do with greens, blues, and grays being the best colors for my pale pinkish complexion and reddish, orangish, brownish hair and hazel eyes. (I long to be able to wear yellow, but alas, that color is reserved for other people and just makes me look so sallow)

Gloria Cowl in Manos

My plan was, initially, to buy this skein to try out Manos and make a quick little cowl. I first tried the Chickadee Cowl, but it didn’t look quite right with the yarn. Not really in the mood to dilly dally in finding a cowl pattern, since this was supposed to be an instant gratification knit, I went with the simple, but effective, Gloria Cowl.

Gloria Cowl in Manos

Rav page
Needles: Knit Picks options 11 circulars
Yarn: Manos del Uraguay (.8 skein)
Mods: 1 inch seed stitch on either end with 8 inches of stockinette in the middle

In other news, I’ve set up an incentive program for myself to go to the gym regularly. After I reach my goal, of 30 min of cardio 3 times a week and 1 weight session per week for 4 weeks in a row, I’m allowing myself to buy a new camera, with 2 lenses even.

And I just dropped Kasy off at the train station to go to the airport. Thus begins my week alone.

3 Responses to “2008 Knits: Manos Gloria Cowl”

  1. Kat Says:

    Looks great! Gotta love that Manos.

  2. Stacey Says:

    OOh, I have a skein of Manos just waiting to be turned into something. I think we have a winner! And also, don’t you ride your bike all the time? Do you really have to go to the gym? I’m just sayin’….

    Be glad I don’t know you in real life, I’d be the first person to talk you out of going to the gym so you could sit on the couch and eat ice cream with me.

  3. chelseacreature Says:

    the cowl looks so good! and manos del uraguay…agh so good!

    ps. sent ya a zine yesterday!


Leave a Reply

