Not taking this semester off after all

September 24, 2008

So I’m a graduate student. I mention school every now and then, and usually with some sort of disdain. I work full time in an office and attend classes on a part-time basis. I go to the University of Pennsylvania for Environmental Studies, with my concentration being Environmental Policy. I still don’t really know why I’m in grad school, and I constantly go back and forth over whether or not I’m actually enjoying it. Don’t get me wrong, I am an environmentalist through and through, but without career aspirations why should I go to grad school? *shrug* Cause that’s what you’re supposed to do after you graduate with a bachelor’s in English, right?

Anyways. A few weeks ago, my advisor confirmed that I am 1 course and 1 capstone project (think thesis) away from graduating. When the heck did that happen?! The deadline for submitting my capstone proposal is December 2008, in order for me to undertake it in the Spring. I know what I want to look into – abandoned coal mine remediation in Pennsylvania – and I know how I’ll go about it. Now I just need to get my butt to the library and start my research and write a budget.

What am I doing instead?

Winding down after work

Winding skeins for the upcoming season. I’ve entered into a yarn diet (sort of). I joined the Sundara Seasons club and the MadelineTosh Magnolia Society so I will still get some yarn gratification, but that’s it! It’s all about knitting up what I got and destashing what I don’t want.

Oh, and Christmas knitting has begun in chez Andrea.

Fabel

3 Responses to “Not taking this semester off after all”

  1. purlbeforeswine Says:

    Dude my swift and ball winder are famous! I thoroughly enjoyed out little dinner party last night. I didn’t know you were in the Sundara club – I LOVE her yarn. Like covet it. Anywho, love your recent rash of project – I’m inspired to keep plugging away at my myriad number of projects. xoxo

    *PS way to rock the grad school thing.

  2. preita Says:

    Great picture. You know, I think that’s probably what everyone does with a BA in english, goes to gradschool. So I think you are well with in the norm. 🙂

    I wish I could have been in the sundara club, I didn’t even know it was going on. Oh well, nothing to be done now 😛 I will just have to live vicariously through you I suppose 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you knit up with it!

  3. Andrea Says:

    Oh no! Don’t say diet! You’re doomed now. Oh wait, you are a different Andrea. You aren’t me. Or are you….


Leave a Reply

