Piling up…

October 5, 2008

Apple Pickin'

…Apples are, that is. I went apple picking with a friend and found myself coming home with 25lbs of deliciousness, and a tub of peanut butter caramel apple dip. Moments like this make me fall in love with Pennsylvania again and again.

Ripening apples

The HoneyCrisps weren’t ripened yet, and the Macs seemed almost totally picked clean. I did score a couple Macs on the way out of the orchard, but mostly loaded up on Red Delicious, which I usually don’t like but I tried one in the orchard and it was intensely good, Staymen Winesap, and a handful of Golden Delicious because they are apparently “excellent” for sauce. Never made sauce, so we shall see.

We went to Linvilla Orchards, about 30min outside of Philadelphia. Next weekend I’m planning another pick your own excursion with another friend – location yet to be determined.

Are you picking your own, this autumn?

4 Responses to “Piling up…”

  1. cici Says:

    Yummy looking apples. Nice picks. Iike HoneyCrisp. I use granny smith the most.

  2. lolly Says:

    Your photos are spectacular – love the boots too! Enjoy all of the apples 😉

  3. purlbeforeswine Says:

    I made Black Raspberry jam today! Canning is actually super easy and I’m going to put up all the apple sauce I make. Apparently, many apples are good for sauce and it’s good to mix them for more complex flavors – I’m going to add some from the co-op to the ones from yesterday.

    Highland Orchards is supposed to be AWESOME – or at least that’s what my jam-making buddy told me. I think we should put it on our list for our springtime tour of PA orchards. It doesn’t have the “theme park” feel of Linvilla.

  4. Andrea Says:

    Honeycrisp are my favorite. I even have one sitting on my shelf. Must… go… eat… it… Num num num…


Leave a Reply

