It’s October…er…Socktober!

October 9, 2008

As many of you knitters are aware of, it’s Socktober time!

I joined up with those knitters in the Through the Loops group on Ravelry to take part in the Socktoberfest Mystery Sock Knit Along

Socktoberfest TTL Mystery KAL

Using 2 skeins of Lorna’s Laces in “Gone Fishing” (Jimmy Beans Wool’s exclusive September 2008 colorway) I cast on for the cuffs. I’m knitting these on size 1 dpn, and since the hints come out weekly, I am doing both socks at the same time – alternating with one sock on scrap yarn and one sock on the needles. I know that if I just did one, that I would be very lazy in getting that second one started at the end of the month.

If you want to join in to the KAL, the hints are put up in the Ravelry Through the Loops group each Wednesday of the month.

As for other Socktober festivities, I’ll be knitting up a bunch of socks for holiday gifts this year. Some pairs can be shown online and others will have to wait to be unveiled until after the holidays.

I also told Lolly that I would do a photo tutorial of knitting a simple stockinette sock from the toe up on double pointed needles. I’ll be knitting a stockinette sock from self-striping yarn, with a traditional heel-flap. The sock may or may not be a kneehigh, so perhaps some calf-increases too. I’m sure there are others of you who are interested in making stockinette knee highs, utilizing all the yarn in a skein, while being able to try on the sock as you go. Right??

Still working on it. Stay tuned for that one. It should be ready soon.

7 Responses to “It’s October…er…Socktober!”

  1. lolly Says:

    I am looking forward to your tutorial, A! THanks for volunteering 🙂 Just let me know when it is ready. Loving this yarn you are using for the sock- so pretty.

  2. Stacey Says:

    Love the yarn you’re using…and I am interested in your tutorial! I love long socks but tend to not make them because I am afraid I won’t have enough. I usually make socks top down and then have some left over. 😦

  3. cici Says:

    Sounds like fun. It will my first mystery sock knit along.

  4. purlbeforeswine Says:

    Dude – I think it’s time you learned to knit two socks at a time on one needle (magic loop) or two needles. Think of how many socks your could get done!!! I’d be happy to lend you my magic loop booklet or to teach you.

  5. purlandpedal Says:

    I am looking forward to the tutorial too! I can’t wait to see the heel flap on a toe up.

  6. Andrea Says:

    Mmm… socks. I still haven’t gone there… someday… someday…

  7. greenalgae Says:

    a random blog reader pops in to say: please do a knee-high! i’d love it!


Leave a Reply

