Toe-up Sock tutorial – in writing!

January 9, 2009

I typed up my notes on how I make toe-up socks on double pointed needles, since I’ve been pretty lagging on posting the finale to my photo tutorial. I’m hoping that these directions will be a nice interim treat for anyone who is wondering how I turn a heel, with a heel flap, toe up.

Well, here ya go! Toe-up Sock Tutorial

I will post the rest of the photos to illustrate some of my points. This is the first time I’ve ever written anything for someone else to understand, so let me know if I’m unclear. It makes sense to me, but it is for me.

Work and preparing for the last semester of graduate school have been particular bears lately, but I will return to regular blogging soon. I have xmas projects to show off and home improvement plans that Kasy and I have been immersed in. Also, plans for 2009 knits and the advent of me making some things that knitters and cyclists alike can purchase.

Have a great NYE!
[My 365 picture from 12/31/08. Ringing in the New Year!]

Oh. And Happy 2009!

4 Responses to “Toe-up Sock tutorial – in writing!”

  1. Alice Says:

    Thanks! I look forward to seeing the photos – and to finishing my first pair of socks!


  2. Thanks for the tutorial! It will be very fun to try.
    Good luck in your last semester!

  3. cici Says:

    Thanks for putting this together, and Good Luck with school!

  4. Jean Says:

    Hi – Thanks for the tutorial – I have a question. When you pick up for the heel does it mean that there is a ridge, albeit small, between the vertical part of the heel and the back of the foot extension (the bit that is a blunt triangle)? And if this is the case does it cause extra wear in that area? I’d hate to knit a pair and find holes very quickly!

    Thanks again


Leave a Reply

