Keeping Busy

January 27, 2009

Philadelphia is in frigid temperatures. My final semester of graduate school has begun. Work is chugging away. January really stinks.

I think that most people really feel the blues during this month. It’s cold. The winter seems like it’ll never end. In the office world, there is no paid holidays until May. I’m in no man’s land. I’m treading water. I’m burnt.

At least I’m keeping my knitting progress up! I finished a couple things, one being a Christmas present and one being for me. They just need to have ends woven and blocking action before I can fully photograph them in their glory.

Until then, here’s some works in progress for you–

Ysolda recently started publishing a collection of works. I loved the items she was coming up with, but didn’t feel the real big pull to purchase the collection. At least not until I saw Ishbel. I really love the look of this pattern, so I dove right in. Bought the collection. Cast on with Malabrigo Lace in Sealing Wax that I got from Turtlegirl76 during her destash sale last year.

Ishbel

The shawl is really flying off the needles. I’m almost done with the stockinette section and will be onto the lace portion by tonight. Unfortunately, this lovely, soft, shawl is taking me away from my NaKniSweMoDo January 2009 sweater that I was so determined to finish before the end of the month.

Minimalist Cardigan

I’m about 6 inches in on the back of a Minimalist Cardigan from Interweave Knits Fall 2007, in Rowan Felted Tweed (colorway: herb). I bought the yarn from another raveler’s destash, planning to make the ever popular Tangled Yoke Cardigan from the same Interweave issue, but I worried that my yardage wouldn’t be enough. It seems as though everyone had issues with pulling between the buttons and to avoid it I would knit 1 size larger. Of course, when buying yarn I didn’t think of this so only purchased enough for my actual size. Oh well. Lucky for me, I found another pattern that I’ve wanted to make for awhile. I have some Jo Sharp tweed sitting in the yarn closet that should be perfect for the Tangled Yoke.

Now, if only I could use my knitting energy to work on my thesis. Reading the pile of journal articles on my desk is just not as appealing. You know?

One Response to “Keeping Busy”

  1. cici Says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Nothing compares to knitting for me. Good luck on your thesis. Cant wait to see your projects finished. I see you have a clap finished already for 2009. I started my first clap last week.


Leave a Reply

