a wee little update

March 5, 2009

YIP 2009 | 3.2.09

Howdy. It’s March. This year is going way too fast, but I am not sorry to see winter coming to a close. This might be the first year in my life that I am hating the cold. Hating it so much. And the ice? Oy. Let’s not even go there.

Maslenitsa Spread | smoked fish + caviar

This past weekend was my family’s annual Maslenitsa celebration, so back to New York I went. We laughed, we did a shot of vodka, we ate. Boy, did we eat.

YIP2009 | 3.1.09 (part 2) Maslenitsa meal

This is my favorite meal of the year, to be honest. Even though I do not eat meat and eat very little dairy, I do eat fish and love fish (yes yes, I know that makes me not a vegetarian, yadda yadda, let’s not get into the sticky details, ok?). My Amama made her russian blini and we ate it alongside smoked salmon, pickled herring, smoked capers, chives, chopped egg and caviar. Om nom nom, indeed. It was nice to get together with the family, in a non-commercial holiday way, and continue our heritage and traditions through yet another year. We only get together in total every so often, since we are spread over 3 different cities, in 2 different states.

While at my parents, I tried to get more done on my Minimalist Cardigan. You know, instead of writing for graduate school. I don’t know if it’s the endless moss stitch or if it’s the foggy mush my brain is lately, but this cardigan is slogging along. I do want to finish it, since the moss stitch texture in Rowan Felted Tweed is so fantastic, but it’s hard to keep focused on it for too long.

m i n i m a l i s t

At least I’m supplementing it with simple knitting, in the form of cowls and a shawl that is going round and round and round. FO shots soon. Now back to work!

4 Responses to “a wee little update”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I think the endless moss stitch is why I have been avoiding that lovely sweater. Hope that it will make a visit to knitting circle…hint hint.

  2. Mariss Says:

    Andrea, that is such a wonderful tradition you and your family have! I’m glad you got to see them and enjoy it.

    I can’t wait to see how your cardigan turns out 🙂

  3. Shaina Says:

    I hate moss/seed stitch for just that reason. It should be simple knitting, but it’s just not! I’m constantly f-ing up the pattern. Good luck with you! Your celebration looks so beautiful, such lovely colors.

  4. sonia Says:

    mm. now i wish i’d gone home for maslenitsa.


Leave a Reply

