Close to the end

March 18, 2009

The first draft of my thesis should be completed by Monday, March 23rd. Yikes! The end of the semester is getting pretty close!

Part of my thesis deals with acid mine drainage, since it is such an enormous environmental issue related to coal mines. In order to get a good sense of the entire state, I’m currently in West Pennsylvania visiting with different organizations and conducting interviews.

AMD at Wingfield Pines

I got a chance to visit an acid mine drainage remediation project at Wingfield Pines, outside of Pittsburgh.

Don’t have a chance to really blog about it properly right now. Need to pack up my stuff from the hotel outside of Pittsburgh and head off to West Virginia for another meeting.

AMD at Wingfield Pines

Until I give a proper debriefing, here’s some pictures to satisfy your curiosity…in case you are curious about AMD, abandoned mine remediation, and my Master’s thesis.

4 Responses to “Close to the end”

  1. Andrea Says:

    So pretty, yet disturbing…

  2. abby Says:

    what crazy colors! all very, very interesting.


  3. […] it. Every time something coal related appeared beside us, I made sure to point it out to Kasy, as the coal history in Pennsylvania is something that is now near and dear to my […]


  4. […] it. Every time something coal related appeared beside us, I made sure to point it out to Kasy, as the coal history in Pennsylvania is something that is now near and dear to my […]


Leave a Reply

