FO 2009 | Honeybee Cardigan

September 16, 2009

This summer I did a little test knitting for a couple of designers I adore. I’ve been waiting to show you, blog readers, my finished test knits until the patterns were released.

Here’s the first, fresh off the press. Laura Chau released her trio collection, Flora and Fauna, Bees Flowers and Leaves, this morning and one of the patterns is the long awaited Honeybee Cardigan.

Test Knitting

When Jesh and I volunteered ourselves to test knit the Honeybee (I mean, how could I not volunteer! I’d been watching Laura’s progress on it and loving it!), we were under instructions to use a “robust” sock yarn. Both of us ended up using Malabrigo Sock, and Laura’s original Honeybee (the pink one in the pattern) uses Socks that Rock mediumweight. Hemming and hawing over colors, I chose Solis. Greens are always a success for me and this green, in particular, is incredible.

207/365 - 2009 | honeybee knitting underway over here

I bought the yarn from eat.sleep.knit. and have nothing but praise for their speed of shipping and all around pleasant experience in purchasing yarn online. Seriously. If you haven’t used them before, do. You won’t be disappointed. Anywhoo, I purchased 4 skeins to be on the safe side and also because I still wasn’t sure if I would knit elbow length or full length sleeves.

Honeybee Cardigan - blocking

I’m not going to lie. I had some trouble figuring out the Honeybee stitch at first, but thankfully Jesh was able to help me out, since Laura was on vacation during that time. Once I had the stitch down, I was flying. The body knits up so quickly, since there isn’t waist shaping. Laura included a fabulous picture tutorial in the pattern to make sure you guys don’t have any problems with the Honeybees, so don’t worry about the lace seeming complicated looking. It is so simple, and you can read the lace in the pattern as you knit, so if you make any mistakes along the way, you’ll see them almost immediately for fixibility.

Honeybee Cardigan

The cardigan also employs the most darling set-in sleeves, which were my first to ever try. I have to applaud Laura, again, on how simple her instructions are to execute and how prim and proper the sleeves fit onto the body.

224/365 - 2009 | Is fall coming?

All in all, this has to be topping the list of best things I’ve ever knit and I am so pleased that Laura let me test knit for her. She is a delight to work with and her designs just keep getting better and better. The cardigan is the perfect transitional weather piece, adding some warmth without feeling like you’re wearing a full cardigan. It knits up pretty fast and the results are stunning.

Honeybee Cardigan

I’m pretty sure I’m making another one of these in the near future. I want a black one, just like Jesh’s!

—-

The details:

Pattern: Honeybee Cardigan by Laura Chau
check out Laura’s blog for all the accessibility and pricing info!
Yarn: Malabrigo Sock in Solis (2.58 skeins used)
Needles: size 5 circulars, size 5 dpn (for sleeves) and size 3 for bottom hem (not part of the pattern instructions though)
Buttons are from Rosie’s Yarn Cellar in Philadelphia
ravelry project page

13 Responses to “FO 2009 | Honeybee Cardigan”

  1. chelsea Says:

    i love this cardigan! the pattern is so pretty, and you picked such a great color! i need to be making things for other people but all i want to do now is knit this for myself!

  2. lisa Says:

    Oh, I do want one for myself! In the same color 🙂

  3. Susanne Says:

    I totally want to get crackin’ on this. I’m working on a top-down raglan cardi now and all the stockinette stitch is driving me batty. I just have to check to see if Laura’s pattern will fit my boobs.

  4. knittingprettyindc Says:

    I adored watching your progress on Rav & this turned out so nicely!

  5. Andrea Says:

    I was so glad that I got a chance to see this sweater in person last Wednesday. It’s gorgeous!!!! You did a beautiful job on this sweater. I love the colorway of the yarn.

  6. misa Says:

    It looks faaabulous on you, very cute. So fem and elegant.

  7. rstropp Says:

    Oh I’m definitely adding this to my queue. Love your blog, by the way!

  8. Pinneguri Says:

    As I 1) love greens and 2) just am amazed about the softness and how easy it is to knit up something with Malabrigo sock yarn, I love your cardigan the best. Great work, well done. And beautiful pictures 😀

  9. mom Says:

    Hi Andrea
    Just looked at your blog–terrific sweater. The lacy pattern is very pretty. Good job!!!
    Love
    mom

  10. Inés Says:

    Hello! I am Inés from Abuelita Yarns Company. I loved your cardigan!! The color and pattern were great!
    We are a uruguaian brand which sells yarns. If you want to know more about us please enter http://www.abuelitayarns.com or if you wish to see our articles and pictures enter http://www.abuelitayarns.com/blog/
    Good luck! 😀


  11. I LOVE that pattern and the colorway you chose. I have to make one of these for myself!

  12. rachel Says:

    Such a lovely pattern, and it looks so pretty in that colour green. I’m getting inspired to look up that pattern for myself!


  13. […] sweaters 1. Honeybee Cardigan (ravelry link) (blog post) 2. Monday Morning Cardigan [still haven't taken proper FO pictures] (ravelry […]


Leave a Reply

