Rhinebeck 2009

November 2, 2009

Hey there! A bit later then I wanted, but here’s a quick little post about Rhinebeck.

Last year, my mom and I went up to the NY State Sheep & Wool for the first time and loved it. This year, we wanted to go again, and again loved it.

267/365 - 2009 | headed to that magical place called Rhinebeck

The drive up from downstate NY was full of pretty leaves and listening to music, and we arrived at a decent time to the fairgrounds. It was a bit chillier then we anticipated, so the first stop was for hot chocolate, of course.

Rhinebeck 2009

Not wanting to miss a thing, we went into every barn and tried to peak in every stand. Of course a visit to the animals was made…

Rhinebeck 2009

Rhinebeck 2009

As we exited the first barn, I ran into Christi (of Knitting Pretty in DC), which was super exciting since she now lives in Philly but we hadn’t met up and hung out yet.

This was just the first of internet knitterly pals I would come across today.

I had a mission to meet up with Jesh for a quick Honeybee Cardigan test knit photograph. Thankfully, she obliged! And after seeing hers in person, I still want to make another one in black. It’s amazing how the color choice really changes the whole look and feel of the cardigan!

The Honeybees Meet

As I was leaving one of the barns, Danielle (of aswim in knits) saw me and made sure to say hi! It was great to finally meet her, Caro (of Splityarn), and Pam (of Flintknits), in person.

Hey gals!

After so much flickr’ing and tweeting to each other, it was a delight to see them for real. And to see that the Splityarn strap I had gifted my mom with for Christmas last year was indeed a popular choice.

Samesies!

We had a brief lunch, while watching the sheep dog trials* and made sure to check out the last few barns before heading back downstate. Whitney (of Whit Knits), another flickr/twitter friend, saw me walk by and caught up with me. I’m so glad she did, since I didn’t see her and would have been sad to not have met up (cell phone service was non existent for me, so her phone msg wasn’t listened to until I got back to New Rochelle). Silly me. I didn’t take a picture of us! I will say this, though, I want to knit a version of her Rhinebeck sweater. It is even more amazing in person!

There were so many more of my internet knitterly friends at Rhinebeck that I missed. I blame it on my shyness keeping me away from the Ravelry meet-up. Next year, friends. I will be there. *Pinky swear!*

Rhinebeck 2009

It was great fun to go again, and next year my mom and I will totally make a trip again.

*Oh. Want to know where all the rest of my photos are? Including the ones of the adorable sheep dogs? They are in computer heaven because of the google redirect virus, the misconception that if the computer and my hard drive tells me all my photos were moved off my computer onto the hard drive that it is the truth, and the need to wipe my harddrive and restore factory settings. Yes, there were tears. Lots of tears. Back up your files guys. Like 8 times. Cause sometimes that one time might be a lie.

5 Responses to “Rhinebeck 2009”

  1. Emilee Says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear about those other photos! The ones you have are lovely, thanks for sharing!

  2. lisa Says:

    I cannot believe that I didn’t run into you! Next year 🙂

  3. Danelle Says:

    Oh I so want to go next year. I read the best posts about it. It’s on my list for sure.

  4. knittingprettyindc Says:

    Oh no!! So sorry the hear the photos were in fact lost. That is a total bummer. Well I guess this just means you HAVE to go back next year and take more photos of the sheep dog trials. That is clearly the answer.

    It was great to hang out last week. We should get those beers soon!

  5. whitney Says:

    Oh no, that’s so sad about the lost photos! It was so wonderful to get to meet you there. I’m sad that I didn’t get a picture of us, either!


Leave a Reply

