A little late, but here you go…

November 30, 2009

So, a few posts back, I mentioned that there was another test knit completed this summer. Silly me, I forgot to tell you all about it!

226/365 - 2009 | lunch time knitting

By mid-summer, I had agreed to test knit a rectangular version of the popular Ulmus Shawl by Kirsten at Through the Loops. She picked the color scheme, and I have to say…I love what she chose for the scarf!

YIP 2009 | 8.23.09

Using 2 skeins of Koigu KPPPM and 2 skeins of Spud and Chloe Fine, I knit the medium size in the pattern, using almost the entirety of each skein.

FO 2009 | Rectangular Ulmus, test knit

I absolutely loved knitting this. It’s easy but keeps you interested, especially with the changing color of the Koigu. The end charts are a delight, and work up so fast. It really is a lovely knit. I had planned on keeping it for myself, afterwards, but even though I love it very much, I found myself not really wearing it. I’m more of a triangular scarf person, then rectangular.

FO 2009 | Rectangular Ulmus, test knit

Lucky for me, I have many enthusiastic friends. I gifted this to my high school best friend, Laura, over Thanksgiving weekend. She loves it as much as I do, and I know it will get a lot of wear out of her.

Now my brother is requesting one, in a palette of blues. Guess I get to knit another one! No complaints here!

The details:
Needles: US 5 / 3.75 mm
Yarn: Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM) (colorway: p621) & Spud & Chloë Fine (colorway: orange)
Yardage: 2 skeins of Koigu (350 yds) and 2 skeins of Spud & Chloë Fine (496 yds)
Mods: none

raveled

6 Responses to “A little late, but here you go…”

  1. Karen C Says:

    It’s REALLY gorgeous – WOW – I LOVE the colors and pattern!

  2. Kirsten Says:

    I’m glad you waited to post this. Seeing your sunny photos of Ulmus brightened this rainy, gloomy day for me.

  3. rachel Says:

    Such a LOVELY scarf. The colours are perfect for thanksgiving.

  4. Mariss Says:

    Gorgeous! It looks like it has a gorgeous drape 🙂

  5. knittingprettyindc Says:

    Now that I’m living in a post-finals world I’m doing some blog catch up. I did always love this project even though I don’t think of myself as a pink and orange person. The contrast makes it stunning though.

    And by the way I love the new banner. Speaking of stunning…


  6. […] rectangular scarves: 1. Ulmus Rectangle (ravelry link) (blog post) 2. Melody Shawl (no FO pics were taken before it was gifted (ravelry […]


Leave a Reply

