A look back / A look forward

January 4, 2010

Happy New Year, everyone! 2009 seems to have passed quickly, though there were many moments throughout the year that seemed as though they would never end. It was an up and down 365 days for me, but I feel as though I ended it on an upswing and am confident that 2010 will continue on upwards.

A quick recap, shall we?

January through April was consumed by researching and writing my master’s thesis.

232 | 365 : This is what I think about most of the day [73/365 - 2009]

A trip was taken to Western PA and West Virginia, articles and books read, writing, rewriting, editing, etc. All to complete my thesis on abandoned mine remediation in Pennsylvania.

YIP 2009 | 4.23.09

It was surprising to see that I finished, and quite well, since there were many times during my couple of years in graduate school where I seriously contemplated throwing in the towel. But I didn’t, and I graduated in May.

O Hai. I just graduated from grad school!

Shortly afterwards, I joined Kasy and a few friends on a weeklong bicycle tour from Pittsburgh to Leesburg, Virginia.

Nearing Ohiopyle

We cycled approximately 50 miles a day, camped each night, and were completely self supported. I learned a lot about myself, my physical capabilities, my emotional and psychological shortfalls and how I can remedy that, and about Kasy and us. It was fun, educational, and quite a feat, and the trip ended in my first bicycle show, the Cirque du Cyclisme.

Bicycles take over the hotel!

The summer of ’09 also found us with a brand new toy to play with — a Genuine Stella Scooter:

223/365 - 2009 | Is fall coming?

And I tried to complete a sprint triathlon, that ended up being a pathetic duathon due to flooding rain the morning of the event.

160 | 365 : 2009 Goal #2. Train for and complete the SheRox Triathlon. [2/356 - 2009]
[this photo was taken after I registered for the triathlon, as one of my 365 self portaits]

I learned to spin on a spindle.

252 | 365 : getting it done [94/365 - 2009]

I turned 27.

217/365 - 2009 | DHB whilst drnk

Raised $300 and rode the MS 150 from Philadelphia to Ocean City, NJ over 2 days with my best friend, Rebecca.

256/365 - 2009 | headed homewards

Fall ’09 found me, and my mom, at Rhinebeck for the second time.

Rhinebeck 2009

This time, having run in to a few wonderful internet knitterly friends…

Hey gals!

On the home front, Philadelphia was dealing with some bicycle/car/pedestrian drama which poses possible threat to my happiness on 2 wheels. But luckily, there is positive movements happening that will, hopefully, prevail and allow us cyclists to be respected on the streets as vehicles, which we legally are.

YIP 2009 | 12.10.09

We had an insane amount of snow in Philly…

snOMG | night

…yet still had fun on 2 wheels at the Bilenky Cyclocross race.

Bilenky Cycle Works annual junkyard cyclocross race

and I celebrated my first Christmas in Philadelphia, instead of heading to NY for the 24th-25th.

315/365.2 | happy holidays, friends

Of course, lots of knitting was done, but I’ll do a recap in the next blog post.
…..

All in all, the year was alright, but I am expecting more from 2010. More rowhome renovation, more bicycle advcacy, more bicycle touring, more scooter fun, more crafts, more photography, more smiles, and more happiness.

I’m almost complete with my 2nd year of the 365 self-portrait project and I’m not sure if I’ll continue on for a 3rd. I have mentally committed myself to another Year in Pictures on Flickr, but the more relaxed version that some flickr friends are also doing.

Regardless, thanks for the comments and support you’ve all shown through this crazy little space called the internet. Much love to you as we start 2010 off with a bang!

4 Responses to “A look back / A look forward”

  1. Allyson Says:

    I want to get more into biking this year. I bike around Chicago like my bike is my car but haven’t gone on any bike adventures like you have! It sounds so amazing!

  2. rachel Says:

    I love your pictures!

  3. lisa Says:

    Becoming friends with you was one of the wonderful things about 2009…cheesy grin.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Hi! I began reading maybe more than a year ago but was too shy to comment…what drew me here were the tales of your extended bike rides (something I hope to find the time to do in the near future)..but I’ve kept reading for quite a few other reasons! Finally I’m commenting! I wanted to say congratulations on completing your masters…and I hope 2010 brings you hours of peace and joy from atop the bike seat and much crafty inspiration!


Leave a Reply

