I hear Philadelphia got some snow…

February 9, 2010

And boy did we!

Saturday morning

The City clocked in at 28 inches, but I think we got closer to 24 in my corner of South Philly. It started Friday night, as we were headed back to South Philly from Fishtown. A wintry, snowy, bikeride was had.

Riding home

350/365.2 | snow + bikes do mix

On Saturday, we bundled down in the house and worked on some projects and watched movies. I was supposed to be headed to New York to celebrate maslenitsa with my family, but since Bolt Bus canceled all their buses on Friday, and the trains weren’t running, I was stuck in Philly (not that I minded, cause lazy snow days are awesome!). The snow ended mid-afternoon, and the block was abuzz with everyone digging out the sidewalk.

Sunday, we decided to get out of the house for a long walk up to Center City.

photowalk to Rittenhouse Square

Rittenhouse Square

grace tavern

Stopping off at Grace Tavern for a couple of beers on the way home.

Did you hear? We’re supposed to be getting more snow tonight too.

—–

Oh, don’t worry. I haven’t just been staring at snow all of 2010. There has been knitting happening and I’m working hard on finishing up old WIPs. I have a new FO and an old WIP that was finished to show off to you. But I’ll leave those to posts later this week. In the meantime, please behold my latest love…

Shetland Triange

The Shetland Lace Triangle, that everyone has made, knit with Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock heavyweight in the Grawk colorway. I have 2 skeins and am at repeat 8 with 1/3 of the first skein used. A kind friend on Twitter told me to watch my yarn usage when I get to the edging, since it is apparently a big yarn muncher. I’ll be saving the last half of the second skein for that. Anyways, this is going so quickly and I’m having a hard time putting it down. Let me tell you…this monogamous knitting thing…it really lets you finish things pretty quick, don’t it?

Leave a Reply

