breathing room

February 18, 2010

It’s so easy to be overwhelmed by the spinning world around you. Everyone is moving so fast and to-do lists get longer and longer. Especially in winter, for me, the lack of sunlight makes me feel as though I have less time available to accomplish all the things I want to do. I am slowly learning to not be frustrated and upset with myself when I don’t finish a to-do list or be working on a variety of things from morning to night. I am slowly learning to be ok with just being, because let’s be honest…I’m not one to actually be continuously “productive” from morning to night. I avoid. I waste time. I procrastinate. I doubt. I worry. I think of all the things I’d rather be doing. I don’t get the “practical” things done that I want to get done in the “timely” manner that I imagine for myself. I set myself up for failure time and time again. And I’m trying to stop all that. And give myself the time, space, and energy to just enjoy the ride.

That said, I do hope to do some good home renovation stuff done this weekend.
335/365.2

Life can be found only in the present moment. The past is gone, the future is not yet here, and if we do not go back to ourselves in the present moment, we cannot be in touch with life. Thich Nhat Hanh

One Response to “breathing room”

  1. chelsea Says:

    I totally feel you on this. I’ve been really forcing myself lately to not feel disappointed if I don’t knit enough in the evening, or finish a book in a timely fashion, or if I let my dishes sit until morning. These things are okay! But it’s hard to remember that. It’s been really nice to spend an evening just watching a movie and drinking tea if that’s all I feel like doing. Hopefully we can strike a nice balance soon & I feel sure that warmer weather will help!


Leave a Reply

