Attempts at conquering the stash

September 10, 2010

Fall is slowly rolling in. Since summer is my least favorite season (I belong in cold weather), I am so pleased that the days are still warm but in a different way. There’s something about 85 degree heat in September that feels drastically different from 85 degree heat in July or August. Maybe it’s the cool nights. Maybe it’s the lack of the humidity. Regardless, nothing but smiles over here.

As the temperatures drop to more humane standards, I find myself continuing to wrap my arms around my possessions and my relationship with material items. As all you crafters can understand, this naturally leads to thoughts of how to manage the yarn and fabric and other crafty detritus acquired over many years of making things with your hands. Sometimes I have fleeting thoughts of dumping everything and starting from scratch, stash-wise, but then I remember how much I love the yarn and fabric I’ve lovingly picked out and purchased and how I want to be able to use it and love it as a garment or quilt. I had many crafty goals in January 2010, but sadly those are long forgotten. I still have piles of things half knit and half sewn. Many projects stalled out mid-way. And enough yarn and fabric for many more. Thus enters the 6 month Stashdown.

Starting September 6, 2010 and ending around April 6, 2010*, I have a list of projects I want to knit out of the yarn I currently have in my cupboard. The list is not really prioritized or to be followed in any real order, other than to try to accomplish the whole thing by early Spring 2011. There are some gifts, some socks, some scarves, some WIPs, and many things I’ve been wanting to have for myself. So here it goes, friends. Wish me luck! If you want to check in and see what the list is or the progress made on it, you can check out my ravelry page for finished items and items in progress or my blog page which houses the whole list.

If you find yourself embarking on a stash-down goal of your own, tell me about it in the comments or leave a link to your blog so I can cheer you along as well!

And there are some other non-crafty items to share with you, from this past summer. To whet your appetite, here’s a lovely sunset from a recent trip to Vermont. More to come soon.

Sunset driving

*Depending on how this plan goes, I may want to extend the deadline and add more projects to the list.

6 Responses to “Attempts at conquering the stash”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Well, I’m not officially on a stash-down, but I am holding the line on new acquisitions. I have 4 sweaters worth of yarn in the stash right now — one for a Rhinebeck sweater for me (better get cracking on that one, eh?), one for a Twist cardigan by ChicKnits, also for me, one horrible mint green lot of Baby Ull that I will dye and then knit ??? for me, and finally, one lot of Cascade 220 for a sweater for my dad. Probably a cardiganization of Elinor’s Hedge Fence sweater.

    So, no new sweater purchases for me until these are knit. Though I do plan to knit a sweater for Thom and will need to buy yarn for that.

    I also have a ton of misc sock, lace, oddballs, etc. Goal: buy *nothing* else until I’ve used much of this. Yeah, that’s vague.

    Ohai, I wrote you a book.

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    Do you mind if I copy/paste this to my blog? Just kidding, but I’ve been working on knitting/spinning up stash too. I have at least two sweaters to knit, many pairs of socks, and I’m looking forward to spinning down my fiber stash. Let’s get to it!

  3. whitney Says:

    I’m trying to avoid buying new yarn until I knit up (or sell, or give away) most of what I have, but haven’t gotten very organized about it yet. Plus I keep getting tempted by ideas for designs for which I don’t have yarn already. It’s a problem.

    But anyway, yes, I am all for reducing the stash right now. I have some absurd number of sweaters’ worth of yarn lingering in my house that I’ve hung onto through past destashes. It pains me to think about getting rid of it, because it’s not bad stuff, but even if I knit at a pretty good clip for the next couple of years, I don’t think I’d have it all knit up. And in two years, who knows whether I’ll even want to knit with this stuff anymore? Battling this hoarding tendency of mine is not made easier by having a spouse who is about 100x as bad a packrat as I am, but I’m determined to do some serious culling this time around.

    Heh, Danielle, I think I wrote an even longer book 🙂

  4. Ginger Says:

    Maybe it’s that “starting fresh” thing that happens when school starts, but I see a theme on your blog, other’s sites and in my own stash. I’ve been trying to knit up a lot of what I have to give to charity. I can’t stand to toss it but am tired of walking around it in the closet. My goal is to get all of my yarn down to what will fit in one of the hanging closet organizers. We’ll see! I look forward to following your progress.

  5. Karen C Says:

    Our town is having a “town sale” in early October – I’m hoping to destash quite a bit at that – which gives me “replacement” money for Rhinebeck, right? ha ha


Leave a Reply

