Soup weather

November 10, 2010

Philadelphia is getting chilly! I’m not quite used to the cooler temperatures yet, on account of having the hottest summer ever, but I’m looking forward to the winter. We’ve been eating a lot of soup around here, to ward off the evening chill.

I usually make a big pot of bean soup but this time I tried something new. Having a few vegetables around that I wanted to use, and knowing that I love pureed soups, this was a no brainer.

Cabbage + Potato + Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:
1/4 Green Cabbage Head, chopped
~5 Yukon Gold Potatoes, chopped
~5 Purple Potatoes, chopped
1 small Butternut Squash, peeled and chopped
Milk (I used Rice Milk. Water could work too, I guess)
Garlic, salt, pepper, other spices to taste

Directions:
Boil the chopped cabbage, chopped potatoes, and chopped squash until soft.
Drain and blend (I ran it all through the food grinder on my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer)
Add (rice) Milk until the mixture reaches consistency you like.
Simmer on low, adding garlic, salt, pepper, etc to taste.

And enjoy!

Have a great day. I’m cooking up another batch of this soup this afternoon! Soup galore!

One Response to “Soup weather”

  1. Wendy Says:

    That looks delicious!!!


Leave a Reply

