Summertime

June 8, 2011

The temperatures have risen again, making Philadelphia a hot hot place for the next few days. Summer is always a weird time for me. It’s my least favorite season and it usually makes me feel restless and unfocused.

Getting back in the saddle

For the next month, I’ll be combating that with working towards better health, physically and mentally, through bicycle riding. Working from home has made it easier and easier to ride my bike less and less. Even though, when working at Penn, my commute was only 5 miles (roundtrip) a day, getting on the saddle every morning makes it easier to get on the saddle more often and for longer stretches of time. Kasy rides to and from work, a total of 22 miles a day, with most of the ride being on the river trail. Today was day 2 of me riding partway with him, down the river trail and up a big hill in East Falls before turning around and heading home. Each ride is ~15 miles and it feels good to get up and get going, and get home before 7:15am. It’s so nice to ride through city streets before many people are out and about. Morning emptiness in Philly streets is my favorite time in the city.

Over the weekend, when the temperatures were still lovely, breezy, and low 80s at the hottest part of the day, Kasy and I took our scooter out for a morning ride to Penn’s Landing.

Penn's Landing

I love the waterfront and think it is such a shame that I-95 cuts the city off from easy access to it. Terrible planning. Penn’s Landing has such potential but a serious lack of community. It’s nice to head over there every now and then, and watch the boats. I need to remember to go there more often.

Penn's Landing

Jupiter of Philadelphia

Seaport Museum

Kasy and I both love being in quiet places, near water, so this was a sweet way to start our Saturday morning. Now, if only we were watching the clouds and the water from the cockpit of our own sailboat, in a small town far from here. One day…

On the shore of the Delaware

7 Responses to “Summertime”

  1. simplybike Says:

    Great post! I love the idea of joining a friend or a partner for part of their commute if you don’t have a bike commute of your own. I would have never thought to do this but I’m going to file this away as an idea for after my pregnancy, something I could even do with the babe in a bike trailer by joining my husband for part of his long morning commute.

    Hope you have a great summer!

  2. preita Says:

    I used to love riding my bike all the time when I lived in Minnesota. There I lived reallly close to the Loose Line which was a biking & walking trail made out of the old rail road line that stretched on for over 40 miles. Here though in the country it’s hard because the lanes just don’t allow space for a rider and driver. It’s just too dangerous for bikers.

  3. Ann Says:

    I can’t believe the heat in the city already , But your post make me long for home. So much culture and beauty. I can’t wait for my next trip home!

  4. lorena Says:

    hi – just stumbled upon your blog. i live in the burbs outside philly…love seeing pics of philly! my cousin works at penn – she’s definitely enjoying all the parking available now! of course you don’t have that problem…but thought i’d share anyway!

    nice blog!

  5. JennaKate Says:

    Great pictures! It’s clear to see you love your community. Good luck in your efforts to stay engaged and focused in the sweltering time of year. Enjoy the rides!

  6. specsknits Says:

    You know, I’ve never made it down to Penn’s Landing, mostly because it seem so inaccessible (which it isn’t, I know, but I think 95 is this barrier in my head beyond which there is nothing of interest.)


  7. […] Mondays sometimes bring, and did not want to get on my bike and ride part of Kasy’s commute (as mentioned earlier). But I did it and boy, am I glad I did. It really cured the grumps, got my blood flowing, and woke […]


Leave a Reply

