On a Monday

June 28, 2011

All intentions to post yesterday, but the day got away from me as Mondays tend to.

I woke up with the grumps, as Mondays sometimes bring, and did not want to get on my bike and ride part of Kasy’s commute (as mentioned earlier). But I did it and boy, am I glad I did. It really cured the grumps, got my blood flowing, and woke me up. I stopped off at home, grabbed my bag, and headed to the grocery store with one word on repeat in my brain: WATERMELON!

Monday morning

After consuming one fourth of the watermelon, with glee, I got started with my work tasks. An email popped up in my inbox, telling me to check the Daily News as the article I was interviewed for and Kasy and I were photographed for had hit the press. The article is good press for alternative transportation in Philadelphia, and totally makes me sound way cooler than I really am. I think that there is some information, in the print edition, that perpetuates the belief that to be a bicycle person you have to be some sort of young urban hipster. That part makes me a little sad, since bicycles are the mode of transportation for the masses. It doesn’t matter if you’re a kid, an adult, in a suit, in cutoffs, rich or poor. It’s here for everyone and should be celebrated as such.

A brief moment in the Daily News

Kasy brought home the paper copy and we were stunned to see HOW LARGE the photo of us is. You can read the article here.

And, just to add a few more bicycle photos to the mix — here we are moving my stuff from West Philly to South Philly (crappy cell phone pic) and a few shots of things we’ve carried by bike. I’m going to have Kasy guest post soon about bicycle trailers, so stay tuned for that.

Moving house by bicycle

Moving house by bicycle

Rain or Shine.

Kasy and his amazing trailer

Who needs a car these days?

March 20, 2010

53 | 365 : The day after vacation is always tough

7 Responses to “On a Monday”

  1. michael Says:

    I’m moving to Vancouver in two days, and once we are there, I will start looking for a good trailer!

    • Andrea Says:

      How exciting! We are big fans of the B.O.B. trailer, which is a good size for most errands. Our long trailer is a Bikes At Work 6′ trailer and it is amazing.

  2. preita Says:

    The photo looks awesome! I think you guys are so cool with your bikes. I think instead of trying to move anything I would have sold it all but I’m like that anyways 🙂 You guys definitely rock big time!

  3. abby Says:

    How many trips did it take to move?

  4. Ann Says:

    You guys rocks for your life style and maybe for the greater good you will be opening a few eyes!

  5. JennaKate Says:

    Great tattoo, great article, great trailer photos! My husband (the bicycle commuter in the family) uses a trailer his brother welded, which was fitted with spare bicycle wheels. He’s looking forward to Kasy’s guest post soon!


  6. Wow, great article! I just stumbled on your blog this morning, and anything with knitting AND bicycles AND going green is okay by me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

