Looking up on a Friday

September 9, 2011

30/365

Thought it was time for another Looking Up post.

Things that make me happy right now:

  • Cooler morning air. Cooler evening air. The signal of the change in season.
  • Making headway on the new backporch (details soon!) being built by us in the space that used to house our old kitchen.
  • A return to hot coffee from a few months of iced coffee (see first bullet).
  • Making good, healthy, wholesome food from scratch every night for dinner, and always having leftovers the next day.
  • Feeling grateful that the old bones in this old rowhome have withstood the intense amount of (more) rain we got this week. So far so good on the no rain *inside* the house. Our basement is dry and our roof is sturdy. My heart goes out to those who have lost loved ones, lost their home, and have to deal with more flooding damage in Pennsylvania due to the overflow of the Schuylkill, Delaware, and Susquehanna.
  • A great guy who works on beautifying my bicycles for me. My Surly Steamroller fixed gear has been lovingly retrofitted, switched over to freewheel, and we swapped out the bullhorn bars for uprights. It’s a lovely lovely smooth ride and I am so happy that I have good, strong bicycles.
  • Hope you are looking to the positives, on this Friday.

    (And on a sad note. The hurricane kitty has passed away in the loving hands of his foster. He was doing well for the first few days and then took a nosedive. I’m thankful for the amazing help my friends provided as I was trying to save him from a life on the streets of South Philly and am sad that he was unable to make it to a long cat life. So it is, sadly, the circle of life.)

    3 Responses to “Looking up on a Friday”

    1. April Says:

      I’m also enjoying the cooler weather. It’s rather nice going outside and not stewing in my juices.

      Sorry to hear about the kitten. It looked like a sweetie.

    2. DC Says:

      This is such a lovely post, Andrea. Your positivity is refreshing and I relish it.


    3. I’m happy to hear you and your home were safe. I live near Princeton and checked my basement and windows frequently and was so happy to see dry walls. Many weren’t so fortunate… just like with kitties — I have a Hurricane Katrina rescue that made it all the way from Louisiana to Trenton Animal Control… Bob is a survivor!


    Leave a Reply

